show producer

Knowledgeable, professional small-scale venue show producer

  • Experienced, effective show promotion for the DC Weirdo Show since 2015
  • Thoughtful casting, centering artists with marginalized voices and experiences
  • Supportive mentoring for new producers
  • Community-building, personalized (vs “branding”) merchandise approach
  • Skilled show preparation, cast communication, show hosting
  • Consistent sell-out crowds in a 100-125 person venue
  • Team leadership and shared vision for a successful show
  • Ethical, organized and collaborative
  • Radical, inclusive politics
  • Founding team member for the inaugural Capital City Burlesque and Vaudeville Festival (Washington DC, 2017); now known as the InDCent Arts Festival

DC WEIRDO SHOW CAST REVIEWS:

“I felt very supported and taken care of with the DC Weirdo Show! I appreciated the open communication and the promptness with which the videos were delivered! Every performer was wonderful and it was a fantastic show to watch and to be a part of.”

“First of all, thank you again SO much for the opportunity to perform with you all and share my passion and skill. The environment and energy completely surpassed my expectations and I was overcome with pride and joy to have felt so welcome and supported in this space. Everything was so incredibly organized and put-together and I really enjoyed every second of it. I really look forward to performing with you all again should you all have me.”

“I loved working with you. You were prepared and professional from beginning to end. You were also knowledgeable and engaging as a host and it seemed that every detail was carefully thought out and crafted. I will be recommending both performing with you and coming to see your shows to anyone who will listen.”

“Every month, in every way, The DC Weirdo Show gets better! The audience and cast become an inclusive community, collaborating with one another for the best possible entertainment experience. With the “knowledge drop” Dr. Torcher brings to every offering, a fantastically supportive venue at The Bier Baron, and the phenomenal music mixology of Mark, The DC Weirdo Show is THE event to attend each month!”

“Had a great time as always! Spectacular, and you always really make your performers feel valued.”

“I love it! Every time I come to perform, I have an amazing time. Thank you for providing an outlet where I can showcase my art.”

“I very much enjoyed my time! Lots of loving folks who took their time explaining some things to me which was helpful.”

“Performing for the DC weirdo show was a delightful experience. Every detail was carefully provided and when I had questions, the response was always helpful and professional. The show was on time, and we were generously notified of when we needed to be on deck. Everyone in the production, behind the scenes and otherwise, operated respectfully. The videos and photos are a nice touch, and of course payment is greatly appreciated. Thank you for putting so much care into this show!”

“It is always a tremendous pleasure performing with the DC Weirdo show. It is conducted so professionally with the utmost respect given to the performers. A fantastic show and incredible opportunity for local performers!”

“I loved performing in the show! Everything flowed so smoothly. Everyone I worked with was friendly and fun. This was definitely one of my favorite performances.”

“The D.C. Weirdo Show was an absolute blast to perform for. The people involved were a pleasure to work with and gave lots of positive feedback on our acts. Great people, attendants, and atmosphere.”

“I had an amazing time performing with the DC Weirdo Show! I have no complaints… actually it was probably one of my best experiences I’ve had with a producer and one of the more fun shows I’ve performed in. The whole experience was thoughtful, seamless and professional. Thanks for having me!”

 

Leave a comment